WALKING THE WALK?

This time of year is one of the slowest for churches, the holiday’s.
Slow in attendance, small groups, serving, tithing…

Those that don’t believe in Christ don’t know any better, but those that do believe certainly should.
Think about it, we wouldn’t have these holiday’s to celebrate if not for God The Creator and His Son The Savior.
But, we’ve turned Thanksgiving into primarily being about a turkey, sitting around the table with ‘the family’, and football games.  How much time on that day do we actually spend thanking God?
What better time, than a designated ‘thanks giving day’ to thank HIM for all that HE’S done?
“Always thank God the Father for everything in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” ~Ephesians 5:20

We’ve turned Christmas into a gift giving/receiving, reindeer flying, house lighting extravaganza.
What better time, than the designated day to celebrate the birth of the One that would sacrifice Himself for you and for me? There would have been no sacrifice without first a birth.
“She will give birth to a son, and you will name him Jesus [He Saves], because he will save his people from their sins.” ~Matthew 1:21
“Today your Savior, Christ the Lord, was born in David’s city.” ~Luke 2:11
“He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world.” ~1John 2:2
“After Jesus had taken the vinegar, he said, “It is finished!” Then he bowed his head and died.” ~John 19:30
“Why are you looking among the dead for the living one? He’s not here. He has been brought back to life! Remember what he told you while he was still in Galilee. He said, ‘The Son of Man must be handed over to sinful people, be crucified, and come back to life on the third day.’” ~Luke 24:5-7
I’m not saying we shouldn’t enjoy these holiday’s, hanging with our families, eating the traditional goodies, and so on…I do!
I’m saying, we’ve made this time of year all about US and not about HIM.
I’m asking you (and me) to do an honest and hard self-evaluation and ask ourselves, “Self, is God my priority EVERY day?”

There are churches that don’t hold service if Christmas day falls on their scheduled worship time.
CHRISTmas!?! That makes no sense to me. That’s not being done so you can sit at home and spend the day thanking Christ for all He’s done, all He’s doing, and all He’s going to do. No, it’s done so you can have the day off to spend with your families.  That to me makes me think that Christ isn’t a priority for the leaders of that church.

See, when we accept Christ, we don’t do it to worship Him when it’s convenient for us. Is that what you’re doing? Imagine if Christ only took care of us when it was convenient for Him. What if God only answered our prayers when it was convenient for Him? What if The Holy Spirit only guided or convicted us when it was convenient for Him?
Ouch.
We want and expect so much from our loving, compassionate, and devoted God, but give Him so little in return.  He swore to never leave us nor forsake us. Yet, forsaking Him is a normalcy in our lives…even on holiday’s.

I love spending time with my church family.  I love gathering together and singing and hearing a sermon about His Word.  I love taking that measly little hour or so and having my primary focus on Him.  I just don’t think it’s too much to ask…and I don’t understand why churches slack this time of year.  We’re all busy with one thing, or a hundred.  It’s a good thing God isn’t too busy for us…ever.

When we say, feel and acknowledge that we’re sinners and believe that Christ was born, lived, died and resurrected for us, our lives are to be for Him, about Him, not us.
“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” ~Galatians 2:20

I hope that your holiday’s are full of love, laughter, family and food. But mostly, I hope that your holiday’s are full of thanking, praising and worshiping Jesus. A good way to do that is to remain steady in your church, your studies, your bible reading, your fellowshipping.
The holiday’s come and go…every year. God doesn’t.
“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?” ~1 Corinthians 3:16

~Stacie Lewis

Leave a Reply

